A double arm bar from the front with the hands locked under the armpit is considered illegal. Is this statement true or false?

Study for the NFHS Wrestling Exam. Explore flashcards and multiple-choice questions, with hints and explanations for each question. Get prepared for your exam!

The statement is false because a double arm bar from the front with the hands locked under the armpit is generally considered a legal maneuver in wrestling, provided it is executed with control and does not place excessive pressure on the opponent's joints. This technique can be effective for creating control over the opponent while attempting to score points or secure a pin. However, wrestlers must always be aware of the potential for injury and must apply holds responsibly and within the rules. Various governing bodies, including NFHS, have specific guidelines for the legality of holds, and a double arm bar, when properly applied, falls within the permissible techniques used in wrestling competitions. In junior competitions or specific situations involving injury, the legality can be subject to additional scrutiny, but as a general rule, the maneuver itself is permissible.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy